Getting to Bangkok: Backstory Part 2

For Part 1 of this story, please go here first.

End of 2015

After the closing of our store and a month to catch his breath, Jeff was given a job from one of our best customers, a civil engineer, so he got to learn how to design on Cad and Revit Design. This job was a real blessing, and we are forever grateful to Justin at Justin W. Capp Engineering.

I had a current resume ready from the year prior when I thought I wanted to quit teaching full time (before that I hadn’t done a resume in over a decade!), and so I asked a few people for references and wrote up a cover letter. In the letter I stated I was looking for a position in a few years. I submitted it and kind of forgot about it as we got busy with daily life in California as usual.

Not totally honest if I say I forgot about it. We prayed a lot about it. Some songs we’d known for years took on new meaning, like Chris Tomlin’s I will Follow and especially Hillsong’s Oceans.  I would drive to work and have a prayer time talking and listening to God in which I’d say, “Send us. We’ll go. But just make your will clear to us so we know what to do.”

January 2016

I received an email from the elementary school principal at the school in Bangkok asking how many units in college did I actually take in education, something about Thai laws for teachers. I ordered a set of transcripts to scan and email to her, thinking, “well I don’t even have enough units to teach there, what was I thinking to move across the world anyway?!”

February 2016

The principal emailed me to set up a Skype interview, and I figured what could it hurt, I can just ask some questions for the future and move on with my daily life in California. On Feb. 21st I had the easiest interview of my life with the nicest and friendliest woman I’ve ever been interviewed by, and after talking with her for about an hour and 15 minutes, I decided I definitely wanted to work at the school in Bangkok. Some day.

March 2016

Kind of forgetting about the whole thing as I went about life teaching full time and working on the things I helped out with at Jaunt, our store, I was surprised she emailed again saying she my references had all checked out and they were “commendable”. (Thanks Ted, Christine, Sean, Kathy) Next thing I knew, the headmaster was contacting me to Skype interview with him and with the assistant headmaster. I set up the interview; wasn’t nervous at all, and it ended up being as enjoyable as the one I’d had with the principal. Super friendly guys, easy to talk with. They talked with Jeff as well. This time when the interview was over I had to admit that “some day” was NOW. There had been a nudge that we’d be doing this after all, even after I had kept putting it to the back of my mind.

March 4, 2016

When you wake up at 4:00 am and decide to check your email, you have to admit to yourself you might be a little excited. And I was excited when I saw the subject line “Good news from ICS Bangkok”. I was offered a second grade position for 2 years!! I woke up Jeff to tell him, and we told the kids the next day. But we also said we would need to take a few days to really make a final decision, to pray more about it, and make sure that it was what God was calling us to do right now.

We were sure it was, and I felt like a weight was lifted from my shoulders in so many ways. I was going to get to have a fresh start with teaching! At least for two years anyway. We would sell our home and pay off the rest of the debt from owning our own business. Our kids would receive a top-notch education for 2 years at a Christian school and be exposed to a real world education and experience a different culture and meet people from all over the world.

 

April-July 2016

These 4 months consisted of cleaning out my classroom and our house, selling and giving away belongings, packing up what was left, selling the house we were living in, tying up loose ends with finances, and spending as much time as possible with family and friends. As the time drew near to leave, it became more chaotic than I expected, but I am glad we took the time to hang out with people whom we dearly love. So many family members and friends stepped up to help in so many ways, big and small, and we appreciate it so much. We could not have completed all that we did in 4 months short time without it being God’s idea in the first place. There were things that happened that could have only happened with divine intervention, and we take it as one more sign that we are right where God wants us to be. If you’re interested in our life as we arrived in Bangkok, click the posts below.

July 2016 Moving to Bangkok

Settling In and Easing into Work

One thought on “Getting to Bangkok: Backstory Part 2

  1. Nicole.

    Dad and I enjoyed reading all about what you’re doing seeing your sweet faces….we’re so happy that you love your job. Love you……

    Like

Comments are closed.