20 Things I’ve Discovered Since Breaking my Foot

Two weeks into recovery, 6 to 10 more to go!

  1. I have excellent balance (most of the time) on my left leg
  2. Armpits are not designed to have things (like the tops of crutches) pressing into them – said armpits rebel by becoming sore
  3. Triceps show definition quickly when used all day to maneuver around on crutches
  4. Don’t try to create coherent lesson plans while on pain meds
  5. It is impossible to shave the hairs that are close to the cast – they will be a hideous length 6 weeks from now
  6. It is near impossible to prepare a snack or meal on crutches (thank God for a caring hubby and helpful children!!) AND, a person with a bone injury needs 6000 calories a day!
  7. There are 4 stages to bone healing – inflammatory and then soft callus (first two weeks), hard callus (essentially “woven bone”), and lastly remodelling of the bone (begins a few weeks in and lasts up to 7 years – Gulp!)
  8. People of all ages stare at you while you try to “walk” from place to place (some already stared before – comes with being a westerner in an Asian country anyway)
  9. There are 26 bones in the foot (I’m sure I learned this at some point in my 13 years of compulsory education, but if you don’t use it, you lose it)
  10. Some days I feel like I’ve got this, others I just want to stay in bed and hide under the covers until April
  11. I have excellent medical insurance through my school at which I teach (seriously, less than $20 USD out the door every time, includes everything, even the drugs)
  12. Things that were close in distance now seem sooooo far away, like getting around campus (thank God for the elevator in both my school building and our apartment)
  13. Even though I am an introvert and love my quiet alone time, being in my classroom from 7 am to 3 pm without leaving (there is a bathroom in my room, and my aide walks the kids to their specials and lunch) can get a little overwhelming.
  14. A bum is not designed to be sat upon for hours upon hours – it hurts after awhile.
  15. Taking a shower while sitting down isn’t too bad
  16. Getting ready to take a shower and taking a shower and getting dried off and dressed after the shower takes FOREVER
  17. Finding a place to sit at soccer games where the foot can be elevated is near impossible
  18. My body is rested and ready to go every morning – for about 5 hours, and then I’m spent already. I have a new empathy for those with chronic health problems that wear them down, it is very frustrating, and I am so grateful that this should all be over in the next couple months.
  19. I miss making bread, watering my plants, even hanging my laundry. Daily things that give life a rhythm.
  20. A broken foot brings with it not only the pain of the break, but other annoying pains like a stiff back (from sitting I am assuming) and sore arms and abs (from the crutches I think).
2 thoughts on “20 Things I’ve Discovered Since Breaking my Foot

Comments are closed.